GCC's Brewer, Mount Pleasant's Pitzer win Driscoll awards

Brewer and Pitzer were selected from a pool of 36 student-athletes

Tue May 03, 2022 - 11:27PM

Westmoreland Sports Network Westmoreland Sports Network

Last Updated: Tue May 10, 2022 - 1:29PM

Greensburg Central Catholic's Corinn Brewer and Mount Pleasant's Dayton Pitzer were selected as the 66th annual Judge John J. Driscoll Excellence Award winners at the 66th annual Westmoreland County Scholar-Athlete banquet on Tuesday at Ferrante's Lakeview in Greensburg.

Brewer is one of the top track and field athletes in Pennsylvania. Last fall, Brewer was a WPIAL Class A cross country champion and placed third in the PIAA. She was voted as the USATF Three Rivers Association Track and Field Athlete of the Year. Brewer carries a 4.36 GPA and will attend Notre Dame where she will continue her athletic career.

Pitzer is one of the most decorated wrestlers in the state. He has won three PIAA and WPIAL Class AA wrestling championships in his high school career. The only year he didn't capture a title, his sophomore season, was lost due to injury. In March, Pitzer claimed his 100th career pin in the state final beating Brad Morrison of West Perry in the 215-pound championship. He has a 4.0 GPA and will wrestle at the University of Pittsburgh.

Brewer and Pitzer were selected as this year’s winners by a committee of the 18 county school athletic directors. The committee selected 13 finalists, and from that group they picked the male and female winner.

Mount Pleasant's Haylie Brunson and Burrell's Ian Oswalt captured last year's award.

A complete list of this year's nominees is below.

Belle Vernon: Morgan Enodshofer (Soccer, Track & Field); James Bryer (Football, Wrestling, Baseball)

Burrell: Nyjae Floyd (Basketball); Brandon Coury (Basketball)

Derry Area: Makenzie Eades (Swimming, Volleyball); Tianna Moracco (Basketball, Volleyball)

Franklin Regional: Sydney Lindeman (Soccer, Basketball); Anthony DiFalco (Soccer, Football)

Greensburg Central Catholic: Corinn Brewer (Cross Country, Track and Field, Gymnastics); Ryan Appleby (Basketball, Soccer, Baseball)

Greensburg Salem: Abigail Mankins (Basketball, Volleyball); Billy McChesney (Wrestling, Football, Track and Field)

Hempfield Area: Katelyn Ross (Track and Field, Volleyball); Daniel Sierk (Football, Basketball, Track and Field)

Jeannette: Sophia Marcelli (Tennis); Christopher Heminger (Football)

Kiski Area: Faith Andree (Soccer); Cody Dykes (Football, Track and Field)

Greater Latrobe: Jenna Bell (Tennis, Swimming); Tyler Lynch (Football, Wrestling, Track and Field)

Ligonier Valley: Madison Griffin (Softball, Basketball); George Golden (Soccer, Football, Baseball)

Monessen: Loni Scott (Cheereading, Softball, Basketball); Jack Sacco (Soccer, Basketball, Baseball)

Mount Pleasant: Kathryn Hutter (Softball, Tennis); Dayton Pitzer (Wrestling)

Norwin: Paloma Swankler (Soccer); Michael Fleming (Basketball, Volleyball)

Penn-Trafford: Gwendolyn Hershberger (Field Hockey, Lacrosse); Cade Yacamelli (Football)

Southmoreland: Grace Spadaro (Volleyball, Basketball, Track and Field); Kory Ansell (Football, Basetball, Track and Field)

Valley: Rachel Schrock (Tennis, Cheerleading); Benjamin Aftanas (Baseball, Basketball, Golf)

Yough: Kayla Gerdich (Basketball, Soccer); Tristan Waldier (Football, Basketball, Baseball)